Newsletter Edition

Summer 2024

Published: 06/21/2024

Letter from the Chair

Dear Friends,

As we welcome the vibrant season of summer, I am thrilled to share the latest updates and achievements from our dynamic Department of Psychology here at the University of Washington. This season of renewal and growth mirrors the exciting developments and remarkable accomplishments within our community.

Our department continues to lead in cutting-edge research that advances the field of psychology. Our faculty continue to secure substantial grants from the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, and private foundations to investigate research related to mental health, autism, language development, alcohol use, vision, and hearing (to name a few).

The passion and dedication of our students never ceases to amaze. Congratulations to our amazing undergraduate students who have received a number of impressive awards this past year that include honors such as Aric Chandler Scholars (Mariana Lemos, Mya Leonhard, and Charlie Stebbins), James Steele Scholars (Laila AlMansour, Samuel Burke, Maryam Goudarzi, Amaris Ilar, Olivia Leland, Morgan Opdahl, Rosa Peterson, and Edgar Quiroz Sanchez), Levinson Emerging Scholars (Kavin Srinakarin and Dave Young), Mary Gates Scholars (Laila AlMansour, Maeve Bottoms, Mary Bun, Gina Goble, and Anastasiya Polyakova), a nominee for the Dean’s Medal (Amaris Ilar), and a student selected as one of this year’s Husky 100 (Jillian Holbrook). In addition, our graduate students have also excelled, presenting their research at numerous national and international conferences, and receiving accolades for their outstanding contributions.

We are very proud of our graduating students this year, and at the graduation ceremony we celebrated their hard work and achievements. The resilience and dedication of our graduating class has been exceptional, and we are proud to send them off to make significant contributions to the field of psychology.

As we move forward, our department remains committed to fostering an inclusive, innovative, and supportive environment for all. We are excited about the future and the opportunities that lie ahead. Thank you for your continued support and involvement in our department's journey. We hope you will consider making a gift to the Friends of Psychology fund, so we can continue to advance our educational and scientific mission. Together, we can make a difference.

We trust that you will enjoy reading the vibrant happenings in our Summer Newsletter. We wish you all a wonderful summer season filled with growth and new beginnings.


Warm Regards,

Dr. Joseph Sisneros

Chair, Department of Psychology

Featured Articles

2024 Hooding Ceremony

On June 8th, 10 students donned regalia as newly minted Ph.D.s. During the ceremony, students and advisors shared memories, acknowledgements, and best wishes. This year, 10 students participated, and we wish them the best as they move on to new adventures.



Reflections from Six Graduating PhD Students

Six graduating Ph.D. students—Mariah Corey, Ella Lombard, Chao Qin, Katherine Seldin, Noah Triplett, and Liyang Wang—share highlights from graduate school, next steps, what's exciting them, and their best advice for incoming students. Read their reflections here.



Celebrating the Retirement of Wendy Stone

Please join us in recognizing the distinguished contributions and service of Professor Wendy Stone, who is retiring this summer. Professor Stone made significant contributions in the area of autism research, specifically on the early diagnosis and intervention strategies for young children with autism. Her impact on our department and community will continue to be felt long after her retirement.


Psychology Names Eight Steele Scholars

Thanks to the generous support provided by the James Steele Endowed Scholarship fund, the Department of Psychology offers financial support to selected students who have a demonstrated interest in the field of clinical psychology. Meet the eight 2023-2024 James Steele Scholars: Laila AlMansour, Samuel Burke, Maryam Goudarzi, Amaris Ilar, Olivia Leland, Morgan Opdahl, Rosa Peterson, and Edgar Quiroz Sanchez.



Distinguished Alumni Lecture with Michael Fanselow, Ph.D. '80

Join us on November 13, 2024, to celebrate Michael Fanselow, Ph.D.'80. Fanselow is a Professor of Psychology at UCLA and winner of the 2023 APA Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, the association's highest honor. 



In Memoriam: Stanley Sue

Stanley Sue, Ph.D., a renowned clinical psychologist and former UW Psychology faculty member from 1971-1981, passed away on June 6, 2024, at the age of 80. Sue was known for his contributions to the field of multicultural studies, specifically in relation to the mental health issues of ethnic minorities and the need for cultural competence in the treatment of psychological disorders.