Newsletter Article

Faculty Awards & Achievements

Mary Larimer Lori Zoellner Stephanie Fryberg Jamie Olavarria Jane Simoni
Mary Larimer Lori Zoellner Stephanie Fryberg Jaime Olavarria Jane Simoni

Mary Larimer was selected as the 2017 recipient of the Wayne J Katon Outstanding Mentoring Award. This prestigious award was created to recognize faculty members in the UW Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences who demonstrate a sustained commitment to mentoring, and is awarded to one faculty member each year. 

Congratulations to Lori Zoellner who received her 1st year of NIH R34 funding for her research titled “A lay-led intervention for war and refugee related trauma.”

Stephanie Fryberg received funding from Raikes Foundation and Stanford University for her research on the effects of teacher’s behavior and classroom environment on the identity, growth mindset and performance of the underserved students.

Jaime Olavarria was awarded an Erskine Fellowship to visit the University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand, for one semester (February-June 2017). During his visit, he gave talks about the research in his lab and teach a course in the Psychology curriculum (Sensation and Perception).

Jane Simoni won an award from the Global Affairs Innovation Fund for her titled Integrated Population Health Outcomes in China: Monitoring the Impending (Second) Baby Boom.

Marsha Linehan Andy Meltzoff Sheri Mizumori Susan Joslyn Tony Greenwald
Marsha Linehan Andy Meltzoff Sheri Mizumori Susan Joslyn Tony Greenwald

Marsha Linehan won the 2017 Grawemeyer Award for Psychology! This is an award given to individuals whose ideas substantially impact the field of psychology and that have significant impact on our understanding of the human mind. Marsha joins the ranks of Elizabeth Loftus, former UW Psychology faculty in receiving this award.

Andy Meltzoff was elected to the Society of Experimental Psychologists. The society currently admits at least 6 new members annually from among the leading experimentalists in North America. The object of the society is "To advance psychology by arranging informal conferences on experimental psychology."

Sheri Mizumori received 5 years of funding from National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke for her research on BRAINS: Broadening the Representation of Academic Investigators in NeuroSciences.

In an effort to improve early response warnings for dangerous weather systems, NSF and NOAA awarded funds to three scientists including Susan Joslyn.  Susan’s project is for Improving Public Response to Weather Warnings. Read Infozine article.

Tony Greenwald and Mahzarin Banaji are the joint recipients of the 2017 American Psychology Association (APA) Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions, the APA's highest honor.  This award honors psychologists who have made distinguished theoretical or empirical contributions to basic research in psychology.

Tony Greenwald and Mahzarin Banaji are also the reipients of the Society of Experimental Social Psychology’s Scientific Impact Award for their 1995 Psych Review paper entitled, "Implicit Social Cognition: Attitudes, Self-Esteem, and Stereotypes." They will be honored at the 2017 SESP meeting to be held in Boston in October.