Newsletter Article

Psychology Department Faculty Awards

May 2016

Marsha Linehan

Marsha M. Linehan, PhD, ABPP was Career/Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association for Behavioral & Cognitive Therapies (ABCT). This is the highest award given by ABCT and honors those who have made significant contributions over a number of years to cognitive and/or behavior therapy.

Susan Joslyn

Susan Joslyn, PhD, was awarded Improving Public Response to Weather Warnings grant from the National Science Foundation. This project is designed to explore three psychological issues associated with distrust that may be related to warning forecast communication.


April 2016

Stephanie Fryberg

Stephanie Fryberg, PhD, was awarded a research grant from the Raikes Foundation, "Moving Beyond Changing Mindsets: Creating a Culture of Growth in Schools."


Lori Zoellner

Lori Zoellner, PhD, received funding from the Seattle Foundation and from the Catherine Holmes Wilkins Foundation (in January 2016) for her work on Trauma Healing.


Kristina Olson

Kristina Olson, PhD, was recognized by APS with the 2016 Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformational Early Career Contributions.


Katie McLaughlin

Katie McLaughlin, PhD, received funding from the Massachusetts General Hospital/National Institutes of Health for her work on mechanisms underlying racial/ethnic disparities in mental disorders.


February 2016

Chantel Prat

Chantel Prat, PhD, received funding from the Royalty Research Fund for her work titled Using Brain-Targeted Training to Improve Reading Comprehension: A Neuro-Feedback Approach.

January 2016

Kristina Olson, PhD, received a $200,000 grant from the Arcus Foundation for her work titled Trans Youth Project.

Kate McLaughlin, PhD, received the 2016 APA Distinguished Scientific Award for Early Career Contribution to Psychology, as well as a nearly three million dollar National Institutes of Health RO1 award for her research titled "Deprivation and Threat: Dimensions of Early Experience and Neural Development.” This is the second active RO1 award in Kate’s lab.

Simoini, Jane1
Jane Simoni

Jane Simoni, PhD, received a Global Innovation Fund award from the Office of Global Affairs. The award was in support of a China-UW Nursing and Psychology Partnership.


Yuichi Shoda

Yuichi Shoda, PhD was one of the 2015 Golden Goose Awardees for his work on the famous Marshmallow Test


December 2015

Jane Simoni, PhD, was awarded grant funding from Seattle Children's. 

November 2015

Katie McLaughlin, PhD, was awarded the Jacobs Foundation Early Career Research Fellowship 2016-2018.

Greenwald, Tony_190
Tony Greenwald

Anthony Greenwald, PhD, is one of two researchers chosen to receive the most prestigious award of the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues. Greenwald and Mahzarin Banaji, a social psychologist at Harvard University, were named joint recipients of the 2016 Kurt Lewin Award.