Newsletter Section


Introducing CCFW's Mindful Living and Practice Initiative

CCFW LogoThe Psychology Department’s Center for Child and Family Well-Being (CCFW) announces the launch of a new initiative promoting a focus on Mindful Living and Practice.  This initiative comes thanks to the generous support of Yaffa and Paul Maritz, as well as support from the UW Office of the Provost and the UW College of Arts and Sciences.

The Mindful Living and Practice initiative aims to promote the positive development and well-being of children and families by engendering, translating, applying and sharing knowledge about mindfulness with children, parents, practitioners and educators. The core activities of this initiative will include outreach to the community, professional training, and research.

The initiative is based on the premise that mindfulness, that is, being present, open, accepting and intentional, enhances children’s, parents', caregivers', educators' and practitioners' empathy, compassion, and self-regulation. It also improves caregiver’s stress-management, responsiveness, and consistency in their interactions with children, all of which enhances children’s well-being.

The goals of the initiative include providing the community of parents, educators, and practitioners ready access to the latest evidence-based knowledge about mindfulness as well as opportunities for training in mindfulness practices. The CCFW will also build research collaborations and programs examining the value of mindfulness in child and family well-being. 

Outreach and dissemination events will include these upcoming public lectures and professional training meetings in 2013:

  • March 1, Daniel Siegel, author of The Whole Brain Child and The Developing Mind, – Free to the Public
  • April 16-17, Mindful Families, Schools & Communities: Research-to-Practice Conference
  • May 3, Susan Kaiser Greenland, author of The Mindful Child, - Free to the Public
  • May 4, Susan Kaiser Greenland, Incorporating Mindfulness into Education and Practice

Timeless Awards - Psychology Alumni Recognition

Timeless Awards

During the UW’s 150th Anniversary year, the College of Arts & Sciences honored 150 distinguished living alumni for their accomplishments and contributions. The Timeless Awards celebrates leaders of the past, present and future—with seven of those awardees coming from our very own Psychology Department. Congratulations to our exceptional graduates!

Present Timeless Award Recipients:

Dean Allen, ’76, ‘77

As CEO of McKinstry Co., Dean Allen helped significantly enhance the construction industry’s then-prevailing silo approach. Allen corralled previously scattered pieces of the design and build process, transforming the firm from a mechanical contractor to a comprehensive mechanical and electrical engineering, design, real estate, and construction business with over 2,000 employees. Allen serves on the boards of many organizations, including Seattle Biomedical Research Institute and Washington STEM.

Geraldine Dawson, ’74, ‘77

Geraldine Dawson is chief science officer of Autism Speaks and a professor of psychiatry at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Through her research, she discovered that autism symptoms could be recognized during infancy and developed an intervention for infants and toddlers with autism. Dawson was previously a professor of psychology and psychiatry at the UW and founding director of the UW Autism Center.

Robert Golden, ’79, ‘84

Robert Golden took an idea he helped develop as a researcher and engineer working in the UW Medical Center Department of Radiology and successfully transferred it to private business. Golden co-founded Lucent Medical Systems on a core technology that enables locating small magnets placed onto medical devices inside a patient. One such device—to track the tip of a catheter placed into a large vein leading to the heart—is used in about one million patients per year.

Future Timeless Award Recipient:

Denise Dy, ‘12

Denise Dy, an All-American tennis player (with dual US-Philippines citizenship) is credited with helping revive the Husky women’s tennis program. Ranked fourth in the nation in 2011, Dy earned her first ITA All-American honor as a UW sophomore, earning the honor in both singles and doubles the following year. Noting that tennis is “a very mental game…like any sport,” Dy has an interest in sports psychology.

Past Timeless Award Recipients:

Linda Buck, ‘95

Michael Posner, ’57, ‘59

Sharon Ramey, ‘74

To learn more about the Timeless Awards and to read about our past recipients, visit the College of Arts & Sciences’ Timeless Awards Website

Thank You to Our Supporters!

We are pleased to recognize the following for their much appreciated contributions during the period of May 16, 2012 through October 27, 2012. Their gifts help strengthen our Department and support a wide range of important research and instructional work by our current students and faculty as well as recruitment of the very best new faculty and graduate students. Please let us know if we have accidentally omitted or misspelled your name by contacting the Psychology Advancement Office.

Tamara L. Anderson, MED, LMHC ǀ Ms. Amanda P. Bailey ǀ Ms. Jessica Allison Blayney ǀ Ms. Ana Bravo ǀ Mr. and Mrs. Steve W. Brownlow ǀ Drs. Jeanette Norris & Steven Buck ǀ Mr. William Budd & Ms. Martha Bishop ǀ Mr. Mitchell W. K. Chan ǀ Drs. Edward R. & B. Melina Cimler ǀ Dr. and Mrs. Paul W. Clement ǀ Ms. Lynne Minnick Crowder ǀ Ms. Amber Ryan Dawson ǀ Mr. Robert E. Donnell ǀ Dr. Michael S. Fanselow ǀ Ms. Valerie Foskett ǀ Mr. and Mrs. David G. Gilbert ǀ Ms. Shannon O. Greene ǀ Ms. Holly Grigsby ǀ Ms. Priscilla A. Hagan ǀ Yumi H. Hiraga, Ph.D. ǀ Dr. and Mrs. Albert R. Hollenbeck ǀ Warren G. Holmes, Ph.D. ǀ Stacy Honda ǀ Ms. Teresa Hyde ǀ Ms. Patricia M. Johnson ǀ Ms. Evgenia Kaplan ǀ Mr. and Mrs. David R. Lewis ǀ Marsha M. Linehan, Ph.D. ǀ Ms. Sara Liu ǀ Prof. Geoffrey R. Loftus ǀ Ms. SueAnn T. Manipon ǀ Mr. and Mrs. Paul A. Maritz ǀ Ms. Melissa Morales-Warming ǀ Ms. Shana Olmstead ǀ Ms. Holly Pankratz ǀ Linda B. Paxton, Ph.D. ǀ Ms. Nadeja A. Petkova ǀ Myrna Pinedo, Ph.D. ǀ Mr. Jon Polzin and Ms. Karen Gleason ǀ Ms. Paula J. Rebar ǀ Ms. Sandra Robinson ǀ Mr. Travis Patrick Skok ǀ Ms. Jenny Ann Flores Skytta ǀ Prof. Ronald E. Smith ǀ Martin J. Stern, Ph.D. ǀ Laura P. Thomas, Ph.D. ǀ Ms. Sandra E. Tudor ǀ Mr. and Mrs. Jeff Van Duine ǀ Mr. and Mrs. James A. Walsh, Jr. ǀ Ms. Jennifer Wang ǀ Dr. and Mrs. David G. Weight ǀ Ms. Marguerite M. Weis ǀDr. and Mrs. Martin B. Wikoff ǀ Ms. Susanna P. Wu ǀ Jeff and Julie Ziegler

Corporations & Foundations:

Baci Counseling LLC ǀ Behavioral Tech, LLC ǀ Community Psychiatric Clinic ǀ IFF Foundation ǀ Last Supper Club ǀ LISALI LLC ǀ JLM Counseling Services ǀ Redeeming Hearts LLC ǀ Santa Fe Dialetical Behavior, LLC ǀ Sheila M. Bartels Counseling ǀ The Alford Foundation ǀ Schwab Fund for Charitable Giving ǀ The Tulalip Tribes ǀ Vanguard Charitable Endowment Prog.


Estate of Allen L. Edwards ǀ Estate of Robert C. Bolles