Newsletter Section

Community Relations

First Annual Allen L. Edwards Psychology Lecture Series

Discovery and Healing: Psychology Research Serving Humanity

UW Psychology is pleased to announce the inaugural season of the Allen L. Edwards Psychology Lecture Series. In the free public series, UW Psychology faculty team up with international experts to share research results in treatment and prevention in individuals with delinquency problems, post-traumatic stress disorders, and high-risk behaviors related to HIV. All lectures will be in Kane 120 on the UW Campus, starting at 7:00 p.m. The lectures are free but registration is required. Register online at or by calling 206.543.0540.

February 22, 2006:

“Understanding and Treating Chronic PTSD”

Lori Zoellner,

Associate Professor, UW Psychology

Richard Bryant,

Professor, University of New South Wales

Psychological disorders following exposure to trauma include personal suffering, decreased productivity, occupational and social dysfunction, medical disorders, and demands on health services. Drs. Zoellner and Brant review current research associated with the persistence of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and the variety of viable options that exist for treatment. The speakers also explore treatment options and focus on the effectiveness of both therapies and medications.

March 1, 2006:

“Science and Politics: The Discordant Couple in the Fight Against AIDS”

Jane Simoni,

Associate Professor, UW Psychology

Judith Auerbach,

Vice President, The Foundation for AIDS Research

Drs. Auerbach and Simoni discuss the relationship between our advancing knowledge in preventing transmission and acquisition of HIV infection through biomedical, behavioral, and social interventions, and how decisions are made in implementing these methods. Dr. Auerbach provides an overview of recent events related to the erosion of evidence-based HIV prevention policy and the context in which it is occurring. Dr. Simoni describes her experiences as an investigator in one of the HIV prevention projects attached and targeted for de-funding by Congressional critics. Both speakers address the implications of the growing influence of politics and ideology on HIV and related publish health research.

March 8, 2006:

“Brain Science as a Means of Understanding Delinquency and Substance Abuse in Youth”

Theodore Beauchaine,

Associate Professor, UW Psychology

Susan Tapert,

Associate Professor, University of California, San Diego

Drs. Beauchaine and Tapert explore risks and results of delinquency and substance abuse in youth. Dr. Beauchaine discusses the importance of understanding the brain mechanisms associated with impulsivity, which allows us to identify at-risk children very early in life. This provides opportunities for prevention of later substance abuse, school drop out, and delinquency. Dr. Tapert addresses the extent to which heavy alcohol and other drug use during the teenage years might affect brain development and cognitive performance into young adulthood. She also describes research projects using neuropsychological testing and brain imaging to better understand cognition in youth who are heavy users of alcohol and other drugs.

The Allen L. Edwards Lectureship was established to bring prominent and nationally distinguished psychologists to the University of Washington to participate in seminars, public lectures, and formal courses. This free public series is made possible by a generous bequest from Professor Allen L. Edwards. Professor Edwards was associated with UW Psychology for half a century, from his arrival in 1944 as an associate professor until his death in 1994. He was an outstanding teacher, researcher, and writer, credited with changing the way modern psychological research is done by introducing statistical techniques to the sciences. n

Special thanks to the following 2004-2005 supporters:

Laurel Elizabeth Ailie

Nadine R. Anderson

Nikalous Owen Armitage

Ralston H. Bahem, Jr.

Raymond Baird, Jr.

Genne Sue Baleto

Valerie E. Barnes

Brian J. Barton

Alissa Dyan Bazinet

Melissa Melei Beard

Adriadna Beauchamp

Danielle D. Beck

Jennifer M. Berthiaume

Joseph A. Boldan

Agnes A. Borbely

Marilee A. Bostic

Mark E. Bouton

Diana R. Boyle

Britton W. Brewer

Gail E. Bromberg

Jeffrey Bromberg

Emily C. Brown

Stacey T. Brown

Victoria A. Brown

Irene D. Bugge

Laura M. Burn

Cynthia A. Burns

Victor J. Burnstein

Renate L. Campbell

Patricia A. Canterbury

James A. Carlsen

Michael D. Carter

Scott O. Carty

Tyon V. B. Castro

Miste Chandler

Narva J. Christopher

David A. Clifford

Brian P. Cloward

Thomas M. Coffey

Claire M. Collins

Susan H. Connell

Marlene T. Daehnke

Linda A. Dimeff

Sally Easton-Humphries

Janice B. Eisenman

Dana J. Erickson

Kelly L. Erickson

Mary S. Everest

Michael S. Fanselow

Susan J. Farley

Cindy C. Finel

Hannah N. Fischer

Jennifer L. Force

Gina L. Forcum

Bill B. French

Melvin H. Fujino

Cassandra Tamar P. Gardner

Daniel Gerler

Nancy A. Gonzales

Mary Ann Goodwyn

Eric G. Gurrad

Priscilla A. Hagan

Richard A. Hall

Shelly L. Hanson

Sean Harrington

Aline Haynes

Haren A. Hayutin

Jean E. Heestand

Margaret E. Hix

Albert Hollenbeck

Susan Holliday

Warren G. Holmes

Gretchen E. Houghtaling

Kenneth L. Hoving

Mary Jane Hynes

Keith C. Ikeda

Laura Anne M. Imkamp

Ronald S. Irving

Clyde S. Johnson, Sr.

Karyn K. Johnson

Therese A. Johnson

Gina Jonas

Leslie R. Jones

Stephanie A. Joyce

Bradley P. Karr

Susan Janet Kendall

Susan S. Kennedy

Danielle M. Kluz

Diana C. Kucera

Barbara J. Kulesa

Paul J. Kulkosky

Katrina N. Kuzyszyn-Jones

Heather Patricia LaBouy

Jennifer N. Lamb

Mary I. Land

Yvette P. Lantoria

James R. Larson

Frederick R. Leach

Melissa Lee

Brian H. Lindgren

Victoria J. Lindsey

Gail C. Loyd

Rodney L. Loveless

Rafer S. Lutz

Douglass T. MacEllven

Valanne L. MacGyvers

Monika R. Mahal

Thomas L. Maider

Mary Gallagher Law Office

Craig Mason

Michael M. Matsushima II

Heather Anne McGreaham

Aida Zainab Mekouar-Lahlou

Teresa Menard

Nancy E. Miller

Judyth I. Mirante

Radhika B. Mohan

Jackie K. Molenda

Niklas E. Mollenholt

Michelle M. Moore

Steven R. Morrow

Dominic M. Murphy

Erin E. Musser

Julie Ann Nelligan

Sarah E. Nesland

David W. Nichols

Stevan L. Nielsen

Stepahnie Nishimoto

Steven A. Nomura

Jan Eric Nordmo

Kyung Sook Oh

Laurel W. Oliver

Deborah A. Olsen

Heather C. Owens

Norman Page

Marianne M. Pesigan

Carmen J. Platt

Jonathan K. Porter

Richard D. Prince

Prevue Theatre

Stephanie Ramos

Eugene A. Ratkoviak

Roger K.P. Rauth

Martha E. Rhodes

Sandra Lee Riley

Carrie L. Runge

Randall J. Russac

Rick R. Ryen

Brian T. Schuster

Carolyn Sue Schwab

Alyson E. Shapiro

Mun-Yi Shea

Holly M. Sher

Julia N. Shozen

John Simpson

Aaron L. Smith

Shelley R. Snitily

Keith D. Sonnanburg

Ronald C. Soper

Christina L. Spears-Bartunek

Jacquelyn F. St. John

Michelle Louise Stringfellow

Anne Marie Sturtz

Terry Sturtz

Gerin K. Suehiro

Jack P. Sutton

Robert C. Swanson

Stephanie F. Taylor-White

The Boeing Company

Rosalie Thomas

Mary Jane Thompson

Polly E. Towle

Charles D. Traynor

Shihfen Tu

Tina L. Vickery

Becky A. Ward

Douglas A. Warden

David G. Weight

Mary Pauline Weiler

Marguerite M. Weis

Adam M. Weisman

Lyndsey M. West

Western Acquisition, Inc.

Lynn M. Willman

Jeffrey P. Winslow

Rebecca L. Wong

Michael L. Wong

Emily Makiko Yamada-Sunew

Kenji H. Yamaguchi

Jennifer L. Yerkes

Joanne E. Zembal

Julie D. Ziegler

Richard P. Zimmerman

Estate of Allen L. Edwards

Estate of Robert C. Bolles

Estate of Yasuko H. Endo

James H. Tharp Trust

Baltimore Community Foundation

Embody Bliss Massage

Katrina Stark P.C.

Korean Broadcasting System

Mary Gallagher Law Office

Merrick Hofstedt & Lindsey, PS

New Harbinger Publications, Inc.

Prevue Theatre

Relationship Research Institute

Talaris Research Institute

Western Acquisition, Inc.