Newsletter Editions

Published: 06/12/2018
Summer 2018


Faculty Spotlight: Kristina Olson wins the NSF Alan T. Waterman Award

Kristina Olson
Photo: NSF/Rich Riggins

This spring, Professor Kristina Olson was awarded the National Science Foundation’s 2018 Alan T. Waterman Award, which is the nation's highest honor for early career scientists that recognizes outstanding scientists under the age of 40 or within 10 years of receiving a Ph.D. Professor Olson is the first psychologist to receive the Waterman Award and the first woman since 2004 to receive the honor. As part of the award, Professor Olson will receive a five-year, $1 million research grant.

Read more about Professor Olson's award.


Behind-the-Scenes Series: What Animals Teach Us About Human Potential

David Gire Noah Snyder-Mackler Joe Sisneros
David Gire Noah Snyder-Mackler Joe Sisneros

On March 7, 2018, the Department of Psychology hosted our second Behind-the-Scenes experience to give a small group community members the one-of-a-kind opportunity to get an insider's look at the groundbreaking research being conducted in our faculty's labs.

Read more about the Behind-the-Scenes series.

Celebrating our Retiring Faculty

Jaime Diaz   John Miyamoto
Jaime Diaz   John Miyamoto

Please join the Psychology Department in recognizing the distinguished contributions and service of our faculty who have retired during the 2017-2018 academic year. These faculty leave significant legacies in our undergraduate and graduate programs and we wish them well in their retirements.

Read more about our retiring faculty.

Faculty Awards

The psychology department's nationally- and internationally-renowned faculty have received numerous awards this year, recognizing their research breakthroughs, innovative community outreach efforts, and top programs.

Read more about faculty achievements.