1917-2017: 100 Years of Discovery

1917 Department of Psychology separated from Department of Philosophy & Psychology to become its own Department

Denny Hall
Denny Hall - first home of Psychology Department. 

1917 Stevenson Smith 
Department Founder & first Chair

Original faculty:
1917 Edwin R. Guthrie

1925 William R. Wilson 
   Awarded Department’s first PhD

Stevenson Smith & mechanical rat
Chapters in General Psychology
by Smith & Guthrie

Also this decade...
1917 US enters WWI (4/6/1917)
1918 WWI Ends (11/11/1918)
1918 Influenza Pandemic
1917 Boeing Airplane Co. incorporated
1923 George Gershwin composes Rhapsody in Blue